Thomas N Salzano: All About IPL

Cricket is one of the most engaging sports, loved by people of all generations, says Thomas N Salzano, a cricket expert and a popular sports blogger. Other than the World Cup there are many other cricket tournaments that are as popular as the World Cup. Among which IPL (Indian Premier League) that began in 2008, has successfully engaged the audience and has become one of the most awaited cricket tournaments for other cricket players, as well as cricket enthusiasts.


Let’s gain more insights into IPL and what are the reasons for its gaining popularity, shared by Thomas N Salzano. 

Introduction about IPL

  • Indian Premier League (IPL) is a popular annual T20 cricket tournament that was introduced in the year 2008.
  • The founder of this interesting concept is BCCI vice-president Lalit Modi, inspired by the increasing popularity of the T20 format in India back in 2007 when the national team won the World T20.
  • The IPL takes place in the month of March, April and May every year, and lasts for almost 7 weeks.
  • This year 2021, IPL started on 9th April, with 8 teams till 30 May 2021.

IPL Teams

  • Team: Chennai Super Kings

Owned by: N. Srinivasan, Chennai Super Kings Cricket Ltd.

Team Captain: Mahendra Singh Dhoni

  • Team: Delhi Capitals

Owned by: GMR Sports Pvt. Ltd, JSW Sports

Team Captain: Shreyas Iyer

  • Team: Punjab Kings

Owned by: Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta, Mohit Burman, Karan Paul

Team Captain: K.L Rahul

  • Team: Kolkata Knight Riders

Owned by: Shahrukh Khan (Red Chillies Entertainment)- 55%, shareholder, Jay Mehta and Juhi Chawala (Mehta Group)- 45% shareholder

Team Captain: Eoin Morgan

  • Team: Mumbai Indians

Owned by: Reliance Industries

Team Captain: Rohit Sharma

  • Team: Rajasthan Royals

Owned by: Manoj Badale

Team Captain: Sanju Samson

  • Team: Royal Challengers Bangalore

Owned by: Diageo through United Spirits Limited

Team Captain: Virat Kholi

  • Team: Sunrisers Hyderabad

Owned by: Kalanidhi Maran, ( Chairman & MD- Sun Network)

Team Captain: David Warner

Other than these 8 teams, there were 2 more teams named “Rising Pune Supergiants, and Gujarat Lions” that were dismissed by the IPL management, and they played in IPL only for 2 years. 

The Format of the IPL

  • The format of the game is simple, where 2 points are awarded for a win, 1 for a tie.
  • The elimination happens on the basis of the points earned, at the end of that double round-robin process, where the bottom 4 teams are eliminated, and the top 4 continue to play the playoffs.
  • The twist here is that the teams that finished 1st and 2nd in the league table will play against each other in Qualifier 1. The team that wins will qualify for the final, but the team that lost is still not eliminated here.
  • The same is the case with the teams that finished 3rd and 4th in the league.
  • The team that loses the eliminator is knocked out. Whereas the winning team of the eliminator gets the right to play with the team that lost Qualifier 1 in Qualifier 2.
  • Next, the winning team of Qualifier 2 plays with the winning team of Qualifier 1 in the final, where the ultimate winner is announced, after the final match.

Basically, the concept of IPL is amazing that keeps the crusty build up till the end of the tournament, says Thomas N Salzano. This year the IPL will be a bit different due to the covid-19 restrictions that do not allow the audience to see the live match at the cricket stadium.

But still, the energy and excitement are high among all cricket lovers as they are digitally connected with each update of the match, and are enjoying the live streaming.

Thomas N Salzano: All About IPL

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to top